Advanced Amino Formula Review 2026Is It Worth the Money?
by Advanced Bionutritionals
|Medically Reviewed by Editorial Team
Advanced Amino Formula is an essential amino acid tablet from Advanced Bionutritionals (Norcross, Georgia), marketed to older adults worried about muscle loss. It costs $39.95 a bottle, or $33.25 a bottle in a 6-pack, and comes with a 90-day money-back guarantee.
90-Day Guarantee
Free Shipping
Secure Checkout
On this page
Score Breakdown
Pros & Cons
Pros
- Identifiable US company with a 90-day guarantee on empty bottles
- Vegan, no sugar or fillers
- Paid endorsement disclosed
Cons
- Individual amino acid doses not disclosed
- 5 g is a third of the 15 g/day studied
Who Is This For?
Recommended For:
Older adults who cannot eat enough protein and want a convenient, vegan amino acid tablet, ideally alongside resistance exercise, and who accept that the leucine dose is unknown.
Not Recommended For:
People with phenylketonuria (PKU), since it contains phenylalanine (the company says the same), people with kidney disease without their doctor's approval, and anyone expecting it to replace protein-rich food or strength training.
Summary
What is in it, per 5 tablets: a 5,000 mg blend of 8 essential amino acids (leucine, valine, isoleucine, lysine, phenylalanine, threonine, methionine, tryptophan). The amount of each is not disclosed. There is no creatine, no glutamine and no histidine.
What the evidence says:
- Essential amino acids do stimulate muscle protein synthesis. In older women, 15 g a day for 3 months raised lean mass, but not strength. This product gives 5 g.
- The sales page says "99%" of its amino acids are used and that whey is "one of the worst sources of protein", with no source for either. A study in older adults found whey outperformed its own amino acid content.
- For older adults, the best-supported approach is enough protein plus resistance training.
Ingredient Breakdown
The label lists one item: "Advanced Amino Formula 5,000 mg", made of L-leucine, L-valine, L-isoleucine, L-lysine HCl, L-phenylalanine, L-threonine, L-methionine and L-tryptophan. The tablets also contain stearic acid, silica and a cellulose coating, and are vegan.
What the research shows:
- Essential amino acids in older adults. Older women taking 15 g a day for 3 months (7 per group) gained lean mass and had higher muscle protein synthesis; strength did not change. A 7.5 g dose stimulated synthesis acutely.
- Leucine matters most. The International Society of Sports Nutrition recommends 20 to 40 g of protein per dose, containing 700 to 3,000 mg of leucine. Because the label gives no individual amounts, the leucine in a serving cannot be checked.
- Whey vs amino acids. In older adults, 15 g of whey improved muscle protein balance more than the 6.72 g of essential amino acids it contains, which contradicts the sales page's whey claims.
- Sarcopenia. An umbrella review of 15 reviews found the best evidence for leucine, and recommended protein supplementation on top of resistance training to increase muscle mass and strength.
Histidine. The sales page says histidine "isn't actually an essential amino acid". A 1975 study found that on a histidine-free diet nitrogen balance became negative, and concluded histidine is essential.
Correction. An earlier version of this review said the product was built on creatine and glutamine. It contains neither.
What Advanced Amino Formula does not tell you
Advanced Amino Formula names its ingredients but publishes no amount for any of them, so there is nothing here to check against the research.
Amounts are taken from the manufacturer’s own supplement facts panel. Where a label states a standardisation, the active fraction is what we compare, because the active is what the trials measured.
Dosage Analysis
Our Dose Check compares the label with the best human studies.
- Essential amino acids: 5 g vs 15 g a day in the 3-month trial in older women. 33%.
- Leucine: not disclosed vs 700 to 3,000 mg per dose recommended by the ISSN. Cannot be checked.
- Histidine: 0 mg; it is an essential amino acid.
The label serving is 5 tablets; the sales page gives no timing. A bottle of 150 tablets is 30 servings. For comparison, 5 g of amino acids is less than the protein in a typical egg-and-toast breakfast.
Quality & Testing
Our Transparency Score checks five things a buyer can verify. Advanced Amino Formula scores 2 out of 5.
- Label with doses: no. One 5,000 mg blend; the individual amino acids are not given.
- Identifiable company: yes. Advanced Bionutritionals, LLC, 5305 Oakbrook Parkway, Norcross, GA. The endorsing doctor, Frank Shallenberger, is disclosed as paid by the company.
- Refund terms in writing: yes. 90 days, empty bottles accepted, buyer pays return shipping.
- Independent testing shown: no. No manufacturing country or testing is stated.
- Study on the finished product: no. The "99% utilisation" chart has no source.
On Trustpilot the brand scores 4.3 out of 5 (594 reviews, all products); several 5-star Advanced Amino reviews share the same date. On PissedConsumer it scores 1.6 out of 5, with complaints about refunds and auto-shipping.
Correction. An earlier version of this review listed creatine and glutamine, 5 ingredients, EU manufacture and a $53 price, and said no price was published. We have corrected it.
Value for Money
Prices on the sales page when we checked in September 2026:
- 1 bottle: $39.95.
- 3 bottles: $107.85 ($35.95 each), free shipping.
- 6 bottles: $199.50 ($33.25 each), free shipping.
That is about $1.11 to $1.33 a day for 5 g of amino acids. The same money buys considerably more protein as whey powder or food.
Guarantee. "Return the empty bottles within 90 days for a full refund", including original shipping; you pay return shipping. Checkout is handled by Digistore24, which also accepts refund requests within the vendor's return period.
Side Effects & Safety
- PKU: people with phenylketonuria must avoid unsupervised phenylalanine.
- Digestive upset is possible with large amino acid doses; the trials cited did not report serious side effects in their abstracts.
The company says it has been used "with no reported dangerous side effects". There is no clinical study on Advanced Amino Formula itself.
Final Verdict
Our Verdict
Advanced Amino Formula comes from an identifiable company with a real 90-day guarantee, and essential amino acids are a legitimate way to support muscle protein. But it hides the amount of each amino acid, provides a third of the dose that raised lean mass in older women, leaves out histidine, and backs its marketing with unsourced figures about whey and "99% utilisation". It is an expensive way to get 5 g of amino acids; protein-rich food or whey plus strength training is better supported. Sources: [Dillon et al. 2009, EAA in older women](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19208731/) · [Katsanos et al. 2008, whey vs EAA](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19083472/) · [ISSN 2017, protein position stand](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/) · [Gielen et al. 2021, sarcopenia umbrella review](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32483625/) · [Kopple & Swendseid 1975, histidine](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/1123426/) · Advanced Amino Formula label and sales page, checked 28 September 2026.
Best For:
Frequently Asked Questions
Medical Disclaimer
The content on this page is for informational purposes only and is not intended as medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult your physician or qualified healthcare provider before starting any new supplement regimen. Individual results may vary.



